Close and Enriching Relationships

Faculty / Staff

Relationships form the foundations of our learning environment, and our faculty are our hallmark. Current students and alumni note the close and enriching relationships they have enjoyed with our diversely talented and deeply committed teachers. Come meet our faculty and staff.

Please note that all the administrators can be reached through the main reception desk at Holden House:
      Phone - 970-963-2562
      Fax - 970-963-9865
      Mailing Address: 500 Holden Way, Carbondale, CO U.S.A. 81623
 

Faculty and Administrators


Charley Abernathy

Math Faculty
BS, Mechanical Engineering, Biomedical Emphasis
University of Colorado, Boulder
Williams College
DVM, Mixed Animal, Colorado State University
cabernathy@crms.org
Appointed 2014

Peter Benedict

Math Faculty, Kayak Program Manager
BA, Outdoor Education, Prescott College
MS, Math Education, Montana State University
pbenedict@crms.org
Appointed 1998

Betsy Bingham-Johns
Director of College Counseling
BS, Psychology, Denison University
bbinghamjohns@crms.org
Appointed 2007

Fiona Brown
Teaching Fellow
BA, Environmental Humanities, Whitman College
fbrown@crms.org
Appointed 2014

William Brown

Math Department Chair, Math Faculty
MS, Medical Physics, Duke University & Medical Center
BA, Astrophysics, University of Colorado at Boulder
wbrown@crms.org
Appointed 2011

Mark Clark
History Faculty
BA, Religion/Philosophy, Colorado College
MA, Philosophy of Religion, Claremont Graduate University
mclark@crms.org
Appointed 1979

Robin Colt
Science Faculty
MS, Environmental Studies, Antioch Univ. New England
BA, Environmental Studies, University of Vermont
rcolt@crms.org
Appointed 2012

Meghan Detering
Library Staff
BA, Bowdoin College
mdetering@crms.org
Appointed 2008

Lane Errickson
Instructional Support, 970-963-5818
BA Human Biology, Hampshire College
MA, Education, Western State Colorado University
lerrickson@crms.org
Appointed 2007

A.O. Forbes (CRMS class of 1969)
History Faculty
BA, MA, Geography, University of Colorado
aoforbes@crms.org
Appointed 1986

Heather Froelicher (CRMS class of 1977)
Learning Specialist, 970-963-3810
BS, Wildlife Biology Colorado State University
Special Education License from Western State in Gunnison
Klingenstein Fellow, Columbia University Teaching College
hfroelicher@crms.org
Appointed 2008

Lori Gavette
Modern Language Faculty
BA, Spanish, University of Colorado
lgavette@crms.org
Appointed 1998

Jim Gaw (CRMS class of 1964)
Science Faculty
BA, Chemistry, Reed College
PhD, Biochemistry, University of California, Santa Cruz
CRMS Great Teaching Chair in Science and Mathematics
jgaw@crms.org
Appointed 1979

Nancy Hanrahan
Academic Dean and Arts Faculty
BA, Secondary Education, Shepherd College
MA, Art Education, Maryland Institute College
of Art
nhanrahan@crms.org
Appointed 2006

Matt Haugh
Arts Faculty
BA, Cinema & Photography, So. Ill Univ 
MFA, Metalsmithing, So. Ill Univ
mhaugh@crms.org
Appointed 2010

Katie Hyman
English Faculty
Director of International Program
BA, History and Asian Studies, Bowdoin College
khyman@crms.org
Appointed 2012

Lindsay Jones
Arts Faculty
BFA, Painting and Printmaking,
Northwest Missouri State University
MA, Painting and Sculpture, Purdue University
MFA, Fine Arts, University of Oregon
ljones@crms.org
Appointed 2014

Eric Krimmer
Director of Technology, 970-704-5274
AA, AS, Colorado Mountain College; Microsoft MCSE Certification; Cisco CCNA Certification
ekrimmer@crms.org
Appointed 2000

Amanda Leahy
History Department Chair, History Faculty, English Faculty
BA, American Studies, Middlebury College
MA, American Western History, Colorado State University
aleahy@crms.org
Appointed 2000

Jeff Leahy
Head of School
BA, English, Pomona College
MA, English, Trinity College
jleahy@crms.org
Appointed to Faculty 2000, as Head of School 2005

Sarah Legg
Director of Garden Program
BS, Agroecology, University of Wyoming
slegg@crms.org
Appointed 2014

Juan Manuel Martín Céspedes
Modern Language Faculty
Escuela de posgrado Universidad de Granada
Master of Secondary Education; Master of Spanish
jcespedes@crms.org
Appointed 2012

David Meyer

History Faculty
BA, Environmental Studies & Government, Bowdoin College;
MA, History, University of Montana
dmeyer@crms.org
Appointed 1999

Matt Norrdin
English Faculty
BA, Philosophy, University of Colorado
mnorrdin@crms.org
Appointed 2007

Fiona O'Donnell Pax
Director of Food Services
Failte, Ireland in Professional Cooking
Professional Chef since 1992
fodonnell@crms.org
Appointed 2007

Jennifer Ogilby
Dean of Students; Modern Language Faculty
BA, International Studies, Vassar College
MA, Private School Leadership, Columbia University
jogilby@crms.org
Appointed 1996

Kayo Ogilby
Science Department Chair, Science Faculty
CRMS Great Teaching Chair in Science 2010/11
BS, Liberal Arts, Evergreen State College
MA, Secondary School Science Education, Columbia University
kogilby@crms.org
Appointed 1996

Alex Perkins
English Faculty
BA, University of Montana
aperkins@crms.org
Appointed 2012

Daniel Pittz
Modern Language Department Chair, Modern Language Faculty
BA, Spanish Literature, University of Colorado
M. Ed., Curriculum and Instruction, Arizona State University
dpittz@crms.org
Appointed 2004

David Powers
Glassblowing Artist in Residence
Studied glass at Cal Poly, CA
Apprenticed with Master Blacksmith Francis Whitaker
Appointed 1976

Lynn Pulford
Art Department Chair, Arts Faculty
BA, Media Arts, Montana State University
MA, Photography, Savannah College of Art and Design
lpulford@crms.org
Appointed 1997

Lisa Raleigh
Director of Advancement
BS, Geology, University of Oklahoma
MS, Environmental Science, University of Oklahoma
PhD, Environmental Science, University of Oklahoma
lraleigh@crms.org
Appointed 2008

Robert Rosati
Math Faculty
BS, Physics, Montana State University
rrosati@crms.org
Appointed 2011

Jeff Schlepp
Director of Theater and Arts Faculty
BA, American Academy of Dramatic Arts, New York City
jschlepp@crms.org
Appointed 2000

Erik Skeaff
English Department Chair, English Faculty
BA, Outdoor Education, Lakehead University
MA, Experiential Curriculum Development, Prescott College
eskeaff@crms.org
Appointed 2007

Ashley Smith
Director of Counseling Services
BA, Psychology, University of Montana
MSW, Social Work, Colorado State University
LCSW and Certified Addiction Counselor II
asmith@crms.org
Appointed 2002

George Weber
Music Department Chair, Music Faculty
BM Music, University of Colorado
MM Music, University of Colorado
gweber@crms.org
Appointed 1996

Tracy Wilson
Associate Director of Admission, English Faculty
BA, English & Communications, Boise State University
MA, Secondary School Education, Prescott College
twilson@crms.org
Appointed 2008

Jeremy Wolf
Math and Science Faculty
BS, Physics, Oregon State University
MS, Physics, Montana State University
jwolf@crms.org
Appointed 2009 and 2013

Ross Woodward
Director of Buildings and Grounds
Denver Institute of Technology
All Fields Training Institute
Certifications in HVAC,
Loss Control/Risk Management,
FEMA, Insurance, Residential and Commercial Building and Property Inspection
rwoodward@crms.org
Appointed June 2010


Administration and Staff

Administrative Office

Jeff Leahy

Head of School
BA, English, Pomona College
MA, English, Trinity College
jleahy@crms.org
Appointed to Faculty 2000, as Head of School 2005

Rebecca Braun
Executive Assistant to Head of School
rbraun@crms.org
Appointed 2012

Dee Gwin

Office Manager
BA, Social Work, Wayne State University
dgwin@crms.org
Appointed 2006

Academic Office

Mariah Dickson
Academic Dean
BA, Modern Thought and Literature, Stanford University
MA, English, Tufts University
mdickson@crms.org
Appointed 2014

Nancy Hanrahan
On Sabbatical
Academic Dean and Arts 9 Faculty
BA, Secondary Education, Shepherd College
MA, Art Education, Maryland Institute College of Art
nhanrahan@crms.org
Appointed 2006

Sally Valin
Registrar; Assistant to Academic Program Office
svalin@crms.org
Appointed 2000

Admission Office

Molly Dorais
Director of Admission and Financial Aid
BA, Political Science, Princeton University
mdorais@crms.org
Appointed 2003

Tracy Wilson
Associate Director of Admission
BA, English & Communications, Boise State University
MA, Secondary School Education, Prescott College
twilson@crms.org
Appointed 2008

Karen Cox
Admission Assistant
BS, Geography, U.S. Air Force Academy
MS, Business Management, Troy State University
kcox@crms.org
Appointed 2013

Active Program Office

Diane Hackl
Director of Active Program
BA, Environmental Conservation, University of CO, Boulder
dhackl@crms.org
Appointed 2012

Darryl Fuller
Outdoor Program Manager
BA, Environmental Studies, University of California Santa Cruz
BA, Biology, University of California Santa Cruz
dfuller@crms.org
Appointed 2000

Business Office

Joe White
Director of Finance
BS, Business Admin., University of Colorado at Denver
jwhite@crms.org
Appointed 2005

Monica Perez-Rhodes
BS, Business Administration, University of Phoenix
Human Resources/Controller
mrhodes@crms.org
Appointed 1997

Marlin Rhodes
Accounts Payable/Receivable
billing@crms.org
Appointed 1997

Development Office &
Communications Office

Lisa Raleigh

Director of Advancement
BS, Geology, Univ of Okahoma
MS, Environmental Science, Univ of Oklahoma
PhD, Environmental Science, Univ of Okahoma
lraleigh@crms.org
Appointed 2008

Laura McCormick (CRMS class of 1993)
Director of Alumni and Annual Fund
BA, Sociology, Northwestern University
lmccormick@crms.org
Appointed 2001

Beth Smith
Development Manager & Parent Liaison
BA, Psychology, University of Pennsylvania
bsmith@crms.org
Appointed 2014

Mark Gotfredson
Director of Communications
BA, History, University of Southern California
mgotfredson@crms.org
Appointed 2012

Ana Mineo
Development Associate
amineo@crms.org
Appointed 2012

Elizabeth Murphy
Development Manager
Special Events Coordinator
Grants and Endowments
emurphy@crms.org
Appointed 2012

Health Office

Whitney Erickson
RN, MNSc, Director of Health Services
MNSc, Nursing, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
werickson@crms.org
Appointed 2014

Ashley Smith
Director of Counseling Services
BA, Psychology, University of Montana
MSW, Social Work, Colorado State University
asmith@crms.org
Appointed 2002

Student Life Office

Jennifer Ogilby
Dean of Students, Modern Language Faculty
BA, International Studies, Vassar College
MA, Private School Leadership, Columbia University
jogilby@crms.org
Appointed 1996

BJ Sbarra
Director of Residential Life
BA, Cornell University
bsbarra@crms.org
Appointed 2012

Summer Program

Cindy Blachly
Director of the (HS)2 Program
External Campus Use Coordinator
BS, Journalism, University of Colorado
cblachly@crms.org
Appointed 2010
Top of Page