Close and Enriching Relationships

Faculty / Staff

Relationships form the foundations of our learning environment, and our faculty are our hallmark. Current students and alumni note the close and enriching relationships they have enjoyed with our diversely talented and deeply committed teachers. Come meet our faculty and staff.

Please note that all the administrators can be reached through the main reception desk at Holden House:
      Phone - 970-963-2562
      Fax - 970-963-9865
      Mailing Address: 1493 County Road 106, Carbondale, CO U.S.A. 81623
 

Faculty and Administrators


Charley Abernathy
cabernathy@crms.org
Math Faculty
BS, Mechanical Engineering, Biomedical Emphasis
University of Colorado, Boulder
Williams College
DVM, Mixed Animal, Colorado State University
Appointed 2014

Peter Benedict
pbenedict@crms.org
Math Faculty, Director of Kayaking Program
BA, Outdoor Education, Prescott College
MS, Math Education, Montana State University
Appointed 1998

Betsy Bingham-Johns
bbinghamjohns@crms.org
Director of College Counseling
BS, Psychology, Denison University
Appointed 2007

Fiona Brown
fbrown@crms.org
Teaching Fellow
BA, Enrivonmental Humanities, Whitman College
Appointed 2014

William Brown
wbrown@crms.org
Math Department Chair, Math Faculty
MS, Medical Physics, Duke University & Medical Center
BA, Astrophysics, University of Colorado at Boulder
Appointed 2011

Mark Clark
mclark@crms.org
History Faculty, Nordic Coach
BA, Religion/Philosophy, Colorado College
MA, Philosophy of Religion, Claremont Graduate University
Appointed 1979

Robin Colt
rcolt@crms.org
Science Faculty
MS, Environmental Studies, Antioch Univ. New England
BA, Environmental Studies, University of Vermont
Appointed 2012

Meghan Detering
mdetering@crms.org
Library Staff, Kayak & Telemark Programs
BA, Bowdoin College
Appointed 2008

Lane Errickson
lerrickson@crms.org
Instructional Support, 970-963-5818
Kayaking and Snowboarding Instructor
BA Human Biology, Hampshire College
MA, Education, Western State Colorado University
Appointed 2007

A.O. Forbes (CRMS class of 1969)
aoforbes@crms.org
History Faculty, Soccer Coach
BA, MA, Geography, University of Colorado
Appointed 1986

Heather Froelicher (CRMS class of 1977)
hfroelicher@crms.org
Learning Specialist, 970-963-3810
BS Wildlife Management, CO State
Appointed 2008

Lori Gavette
lgavette@crms.org
Modern Language Faculty
BA, Spanish, University of Colorado
Appointed 1998

Jim Gaw (CRMS class of 1964)
jgaw@crms.org
Science Faculty, Kayaking Instructor
BA, Chemistry, Reed College
PhD, Biochemistry, University of California, Santa Cruz
CRMS Great Teaching Chair in Science and Mathematics
Appointed 1979

Nancy Hanrahan
nhanrahan@crms.org
Academic Dean and Arts Faculty
BA, Secondary Education, Shepherd College
MA, Art Education, Maryland Institute College
of Art
Appointed 2006

Matt Haugh
mhaugh@crms.org
Arts Faculty
BA, Cinema & Photography, So. Ill Univ 
MFA, Metalsmithing, So. Ill Univ
Appointed 2010

Katie Hyman
khyman@crms.org
English Faculty
BA, History and Asian Studies, Bowdoin College
Appointed 2012

Lindsay Jones
ljones@crms.org
Arts Faculty
BFA, Painting and Printmaking,
Northwest Missouri State University
MA, Painting and Sculpture, Purdue University
MFA, Fine Arts, University of Oregon
Appointed 2014

Eric Krimmer
ekrimmer@crms.org
Director of Technology, 970-704-5274
Cycling Instructor
AA, AS, Colorado Mountain College; Microsoft MCSE Certification; Cisco CCNA Certification
Appointed 2000

Amanda Leahy
aleahy@crms.org
History Department Chair, History Faculty,
Soccer Coach
BA, American Studies, Middlebury College
MA, American Western History, Colorado State University
Appointed 2000

Jeff Leahy
jleahy@crms.org
Head of School
BA, English, Pomona College
MA, English, Trinity College
Appointed to Faculty 2000, as Head of School 2005

Sarah Legg
slegg@crms.org
Director of Garden Program
BS, Agroecology, University of Wyoming
Appointed 2014

Juan Manuel Martín Céspedes
jcespedes@crms.org
Modern Language Faculty
Escuela de posgrado Universidad de Granada
Master of Secondary Education; Master of Spanish
Appointed 2012

David Meyer
dmeyer@crms.org
History Faculty, Climbing Coach
BA, Environmental Studies & Government, Bowdoin College;
MA, History, University of Montana
Appointed 1999

Matt Norrdin
mnorrdin@crms.org
International Program Director,
ESL Faculty,
BA, Philosophy, University of Colorado
Appointed 2007

Fiona O'Donnell Pax
fodonnell@crms.org
Director of Food Services
15 Years as a Professional Chef
Appointed 2007

Jennifer Ogilby
jogilby@crms.org
Dean of Students; Modern Language Faculty
BA, International Studies, Vassar College
MA Private School Leadership,
Columbia University (Klingenstein Fellow)
Appointed 1996

Kayo Ogilby
kogilby@crms.org
Science Department Chair, Science Faculty, Telemark Coach, Kayaking Instructor
CRMS Great Teaching Chair in Science 2010/11
BS, Liberal Arts, Evergreen State College
MA, Secondary School Science Education, Columbia University
Appointed 1996

Alex Perkins
aperkins@crms.org
English and History Faculty
Kayaking Instructor
BA, University of Montana
Appointed 2012

Daniel Pittz
dpittz@crms.org
Modern Language Department Chair, Modern Language Faculty, Soccer Coach
BA, Spanish Literature, University of Colorado
M. Ed., Curriculum and Instruction, Arizona State University
Appointed 2004

David Powers
Glassblowing Artist in Residence
Studied glass at Cal Poly, CA
Apprenticed with Master Blacksmith Francis Whitaker
Appointed 1976

Lynn Pulford
lpulford@crms.org
Art Department Chair, Arts Faculty
BA, Media Arts, Montana State University
MA, Photography, Savannah College of Art and Design
Appointed 1997

Lisa Raleigh
lraleigh@crms.org
Director of Advancement
(Development // Marketing)
BS, Geology, University of Oklahoma
MS, Environmental Science, University of Oklahoma
PhD, Environmental Science, University of Oklahoma
Appointed 2008

Robert Rosati
rrosati@crms.org
Math Faculty
BS, Physics, Montana State University
Asppointed 2011

Jeff Schlepp
jschlepp@crms.org
Director of Theater and Arts Faculty
BA, American Academy of Dramatic Arts, New York City
Appointed 2000

Erik Skeaff
eskeaff@crms.org
English Department Chair, English Faculty
BA, Outdoor Education, Lakehead University
MA, Experiential Curriculum Development, Prescott College
Appointed 2007

Ashley Smith
asmith@crms.org
Director of Counseling Services
BA, Psychology, University of Montana
MSW, Social Work, Colorado State University
Certified Addiction Counselor II
Appointed 2002

George Weber
gweber@crms.org
Music Department Chair, Music Faculty
BM Music, University of Colorado
MM Music, University of Colorado
Appointed 1996

Tracy Wilson
twilson@crms.org
Associate Director of Admission,
English Faculty and Climbing Coach
BA, English & Communications, Boise State University
MA, Secondary School Education, Prescott College
Appointed 2008

Jeremy Wolf
jwolf@crms.org
Math and Science Faculty
BA, Physics, Oregon State University
MS, Physics, Montana State University
Appointed 2009 and 2013

Ross Woodward
rwoodward@crms.org
Director of Buildings and Grounds
Denver Institute of Technology
All Fields Training Institute
Certifications in HVAC,
Loss Control/Risk Management,
FEMA, Insurance, Residential and Commercial Building and Property Inspection
Appointed June 2010


Administration and Staff

Administrative Office

Jeff Leahy
jleahy@crms.org
Head of School
BA, English, Pomona College
MA, English, Trinity College
Rotary Club, 2005
Lift-UP BOD, 2006
Children's Rocky Mountain School, BOD 2007
ACIS BOD, 2007
Appointed to Faculty 2000, as Head of School 2005

Rebecca Braun
rbraun@crms.org
Executive Assistant to Head of School
Appointed 2012

Dee Gwin
dgwin@crms.org
Office Manager
BA, Social Work, Wayne State University
Appointed 2006

Academic Office

Mariah Dickson
mdickson@crms.org
Academic Dean
BA, Modern Thought and Literature, Stanford University
MA, English, Tufts University
Appointed 2014

Nancy Hanrahan
nhanrahan@crms.org
Academic Dean and Arts 9 Faculty
BA, Secondary Education, Shepherd College
MA, Art Education, Maryland Institute College of Art
Appointed 2006

Sally Valin
svalin@crms.org
Registrar; Assistant to Academic Program Office
Appointed 2000

Admission Office

Molly Dorais
mdorais@crms.org
Director of Admission and Financial Aid
BA, Political Science, Princeton University
Appointed 2003

Tracy Wilson
twilson@crms.org
Associate Director of Admission
BA, English & Communications, Boise State University
MA, Secondary School Education, Prescott College
Carbondale Parks & Rec Comm, 2007
Mountain Rescue Aspen, 2008
Roaring Fork Climbers Coalition, 2007
Appointed 2008

Karen Cox
kcox@crms.org
Admission Assistant
BS, Geography, U.S. Air Force Academy
MS, Business Management, Troy State University
Appointed 2013

Active Program Office

Diane Hackl
dhackl@crms.org
Director of Active Program
BA, Environmental Conservation, University of CO, Boulder
Appointed 2012

Darryl Fuller
dfuller@crms.org
Outdoor Program Manager
Cycling Program Manager
Backcountry Skiing Program Manager
Mountain biking Coach
BA, Environmental Studies, University of California Santa Cruz
BA, Biology, University of California Santa Cruz
Appointed 2000

Business Office

Joe White
jwhite@crms.org
Director of Finance
BS, Business Admin., University of Colorado
Appointed 2005

Monica Perez-Rhodes
mrhodes@crms.org
BS, University of Phoenix
Human Resources/Controller
Appointed 1997

Marlin Rhodes
billing@crms.org
Accounts Payable/Receivable
Appointed 1997

Development Office &
Communications Office

Lisa Raleigh
lraleigh@crms.org
Director of Advancement
(Development // Marketing)
BS, Geology, Univ of Okahoma
MS, Environmental Science, Univ of Oklahoma
PhD, Environmental Science, Univ of Okahoma
dZi Foundation BOD Member, 2006
Appointed 2008

Laura McCormick (CRMS class of 1993)
lmccormick@crms.org
Director of Alumni and Annual Fund
BA, Sociology, Northwestern University
KDNK BOD, 2008
Appointed 2001

Beth Smith
bsmith@crms.org
Development Manager & Parent Liaison
BA, Psychology, University of Pennsylvania
Appointed 2014

Mark Gotfredson
mgotfredson@crms.org
Director of Communications
BA, History, University of Southern California
Appointed 2012

Cindy Blachly
cblachly@crms.org
HS(2) Summer Program Director
BS, Journalism, University of Colorado
Appointed 2010

Ana Mineo
amineo@crms.org
Development Associate
Appointed 2012

Elizabeth Murphy
emurphy@crms.org
Development Manager
Special Events Coordinator
Grants and Endowments
Appointed 2012

Health Office

Whitney Erickson
werickson@crms.org
RN, MNSc, Director of Health Services
MNSc, Nursing, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Appointed 2014

Ashley Smith
asmith@crms.org
Director of Counseling Services
BA, Psychology, University of Montana
MSW, Social Work, Colorado State University
Appointed 2002

Student Life Office

Jennifer Ogilby
jogilby@crms.org
Dean of Students, Modern Language Faculty
BA, International Studies, Vassar College
MA, Private School Leadership, Columbia
Appointed 1996

BJ Sbarra
bsbarra@crms.org
BA, Cornell University
Director of Residential Life
Appointed 2012


Top of Page